Journal & Travels / Music

Tuesday Tunes : Skatalites

e0fd9ccada88f6764652b0b6a91407ed

Since I’m sort of stuck this week in finding music to feature on Tuesday Tunes, I asked RNA to recommend me a tune of his liking. He LOVES ska very much and I intend to learn a thing or two about ska.

I learn about ska during my junior – high school era in late 90s. It’s a really fun music to dance to and the whole troop of guitar, bass guitar, trombone, saxophone, piano, drums, organ and trumpet on the stage always brings upbeat energetic vibe.

ska-no-2-june-30-1964

 

Little did I know that Ska is a music genre that originated in Jamaica in the late 1950s.  It is characterised by a walking base line accented with rhythms on the upbeat. In the early 1960s, ska was the dominant music genre of Jamaica and was popular with British mods. What is peculiar is that it was popular amongst skinheads. I had to look into this and learned there was once a time ( before late 70s) when skinheads were strongly apolitical and promotes Skinheads Against Racial Prejudice (SHARP).

This band, the Skatalites have been playing ska since circa 1963 had reformed in 1983 and had been moving the world with ska until today.  The band is basically as old as Jamaica itself!

So, speaking of Jamaica …

oh, yes to all of the above ! soon, please!

3 thoughts on “Tuesday Tunes : Skatalites

  1. I love ska #anak90an Skahayangna 😉 Skatalites actually performed in Enschede while I was studying there, my concert bud saw it but I declined due some allowance crisis. Now I regretted it.

Leave a Reply

