Art / History / Culture & Curious Habits / Projects

Crowd photos, Lisa Larsen and Asia Africa Conference 1955

Photo of crowd at Asia Africa Conference in Bandung 1955 by Lisa Larsen

Photo of crowd at Asia Africa Conference in Bandung 1955 by Lisa Larsen taken from LIFE/TIME

I was doing some research on Asia African Conference archives from 1955 when I ran across this photo. The photo immediately captures my attention and more. If I were there at that time, I can imagine keeping my eyes on the important talks, discussion between important leaders of Asia and African nation to decide where they stand, how they stand and where they want to go with their movements. It certainly is an exciting time to live in. These leaders were on the spot light, all eyes are on them. You can certainly find hundreds of photos of documentation of the process of the conference.

What I rarely see, is this, what you see in the photo. This exact moment of the crowd around the conference. Lisa Larsen, I learned about you because of this photo you took. I wish I could thank you in person but I am five and a half decade too late to do so. So, I thought it is best to share this photo with others here: for most of the times we think we are lost in the crowd but this photo shows that just because we are mere crowd doesn’t mean we are lost.

Leave a Reply

